top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturejtonkin014

Calm before the storm.


Florence a bad bitch.

So, unless you live under a rock you know that Hurricane Florence is due to hit in the next couple days. My county (Craven County) in NC ordered a mandatory evacuation starting Tuesday at 2 pm. I had come to the decision that I was probably going to head to WV on Wednesday anyway-between my parents and Hannah, I finally caved. But, once the press release about mandatory evacuations was released, I moved up my plans. Packed up dem babies and we got our a$$es right off the coast and back to the mountains. Only after the floofs had their happy pill (gabapentin) in their happy foodies (tuna) of course. We got in around 3:30 am Wednesday morning (long night haha). So, the entourage is all back at my parents' house in WV. Like we never even left :P. Plan is to return on Sunday, dependent on how bad the damage from the hurricane is. Praying for everyone on the east coast and hopefully the damage will be minimal. Special thoughts to my parents' beach house on North Topsail (ocean front sad face) and my little place in New Bern. <3


Upside of all this mess is I'm getting to see the family and all the critters. And of course, I'm so happy that me and the babies will be safe here in WV. I had several friends offer me a place to stay to ride out the storm and that was so sweet of them. Even when you don't stay in touch like you should and don't see each other as often as you'd like, it's nice to know there are those out there still thinking of you. Faith in humanity restored ;) Plus, I had several friends contact me making sure I was staying safe and getting the hell out of NC. So, even though lately I've had select individuals treat me like el shitto, there are more good people out there than bad. And I think it is important to always keep your head up and attempt to stay positive. Positivity is key to being happy.


Oh, and I'll get to see Hannah. That's a positive of this hurricane as well ;)


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page