top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturejtonkin014

The simple life.


Ok, allergies in NC are on a whole 'nother level ya'll. I'm tripling up on afrin decongestant nasal spray, flonase nasal spray, AND zyrtec. My soon to be pharmacist bestie tells me I won't die- so good enough for me. :)


Speaking of soon to be pharmacist besties- mine came to visit me last week and it was THE best! We explored downtown New Bern, ate a shit ton of good food, drank a shit ton of good dranks, and of course celebrated St. Patrick's Day! I miss her so much- it's so nice when you have a friend that you are just so comfortable with and are into the same things and there are no boundaries and you just can be. I've grown up with this girl, so I guess she's more like a sister than anything else. Love you Kay Kay and thanks for visiting me (& Hannah!). <3 <3



So, life has been good. It's such a good feeling to feel so stable and happy and fulfilled and just...all that. I'm happy with my job, I'm happy with where I live (love New Bern!), I'm happy with my friends/family- even though I miss them, and I'm so happy with my relationship.


So I guess updates on the life would be warranted. Niko is doing well. She's only on prednisolone by mouth right now and is doing fine. Goes outside, raises hell, chases the floofs, screams for foodies (and to go outside)...all the good stuff. I love her so very much and she's just the sweetest baby. I don't want to think of life without her, but I'm just so happy we are able to keep her happy and comfortable for the time being. <3



I've neutered 3/4 of the "stray" kitties that hang out in my backyard. And by stray cats I mean, I feed them regularly and they REGULARLY come into MY house and they REGULARLY come to ME for lovins and all that...but I digress. They now have collars and rabies tags on (after I conveniently neutered/spayed them lol)- but that's okay. Kitten season is nigh, and I don't mind helping out the cause. :)



As for work, all y'all know I love my surgery. Some notable procedures: took a 10.5 lb SPLEEN out recently and it ended up not being cancerous-- great news for the doggo and the owner! Procedure went beautifully and dog is doing so well. :)



Performed a cystotomy and removed a crap ton of bladder stones. Closed her up and took a post-op radiograph to ensure no remaining stones (statistics are staggeringly high for stones being left behind after surgery!!) and guess what, there was ONE pesky stone left in her bladder! Had to open her back up and retrieve that bugger. Of course, being the perfectionist I am, I was hard on myself, but in the end I did what was right and got ALL of the stones out. And the pupper did SO well! She walked out of the hospital like nothing even happened! So remember y'all- take your post-op rads ;)



So yeah, life is good. A year ago I was in a bad place. I was in an unhealthy relationship, I was unhappy with my workplace situation, and I was overall not in good mental health. Not that situations or people should determine your happiness, but obviously they do contribute. I always try to remain optimistic even when I feel like my world is crashing down. And always, always I am thankful for all that I have and recognize that things could ALWAYS be worse and I am so blessed no matter how difficult times seem. HOWEVER, it feels DAMN GOOD to be so happy and fulfilled y'all. No, life is not perfect and yeah shit gets rough sometimes, but phew I can never be thankful enough that I'm not sitting alone (but not really alone, but alone- you know what I'm saying?) in a townhouse with a shit job listening to depressing music wondering how I'm ever going to get OUT of the mess my life has become. Long story ;) But, moral of the story- life is good. Happiness is the goal, for the rest of my life and it's going well so far. :)


P.S. SHOUTOUT TO MY LITTLE SIS RACH FOR GETTING INTO THE NURSE PRACTITIONER PROGRAM- YOU A BAD A** GIRL- GET IT!! <3 <3

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page